• Steve Phelps has been named Nascar President, effective Oct. 1, replacing Brent Dewar, who has “elected to step down and will remain with the company through the end of the 2018 racing season, transitioning to a senior consulting and advisory role in 2019.”  Phelps joined Nascar in 2005.

• On Location Experiences,  the official hospitality partner of the NFL has signed Hall of Famers Emmitt Smith as Brand Ambassador for Super Bowl LIII in Atlanta this February. Joining Emmitt Smith will be 16 NFL Legends who will all attend one of the three, exclusive pre-game tailgates hosted by On Location.

• The College Sports Information Directors of America, Associated Press and the Fiesta Bowl Organization said they would recognize college football players who have overcome adversity with a new honor, the Mayo Clinic Comeback Player of the Year Award.  During the 2018 college football season, 30 student-athletes from all levels of college football who have overcome injury, illness or other challenges will be recognized as Mayo Clinic Comeback Player of the Year Nominees. At the end of the season, three student-athletes will be chosen as Mayo Clinic Comeback Player of the Year Award winners.

What Are You Watching September 2018 free polls

Top 10 Universities Ranked by Total Football Revenue (per Forbes)

1. Texas A&M: $148M
2. Texas: $133M
3. Michigan: $127M

3. Alabama: $127M
5. Ohio State: $120M

6. Oklahoma: $118M

7. Notre Dame: $112M

7. Auburn: $112M
7. LSU: $112M 

10. Florida: $111M