Dream Team, Malone, Pippen Lead Class Of 2010 Into Hoops Hall Of Fame

April 5, 2010: Will Michael Jordan make his second consecutive appearance at the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame? He has the opportunity to do so, with the unveiling of the eight individuals and two teams that have been named as the Enshrinement Class of 2010.

The inductees include Jerry Buss, Cynthia Cooper, Bob Hurley Sr., Karl Malone, Scottie Pippen, Dennis Johnson, Gus Johnson and international star Maciel "Ubiratan" Pereira (the latter three to be honored posthumously) and two legendary teams: the 1960 USA Men's Olympic team and the 1992 USA Basketball "Dream Team."

The Class of 2010 was revealed in Indianapolis, the site of the 2010 NCAA Final Four.

According to Hall of Fame executives, last year’s Basketball Hall of Fame enshrinement was among the most successful events in the venue's history, Enshrinement ceremonies, highlighted by the induction of Jordan, received substantial marketing support from Nike, Gatorade, Hanes and others, was televised on ESPN, and had significant support from the NBA and locally in Springfield, Mass. The ceremony was moved from on-site at the Hall of Fame to the larger Symphony Hall venue in Springfield to accommodate a crowd that came to see Jordan, as well as fellow inductees David Robinson, John Stockton, coach C. Vivian Stringer and coach Jerry Sloan.

Neither Jordan or Hall of Fame officials have indicated whether Jordan, a member of the 1992 USA gold medal winning Olympic team, will appear at the enshrinement ceremony in Springfield on Aug. 13. The date was moved from September in part to avoid a scheduling conflict with the 2010 FIBA Men’s World Championship, which will will be held Istanbul, Turkey, from Aug. 28-Sept. 12.

The Hall of Fame said it would plan a week of activities and marketing to celebrate the 1992 team and the other inductees. Ten players from the 1960 gold medal winning team went on to play in the NBA and six team members have already been enshrined in the Hall of Fame: coaches Pete Newell and Dutch Lonborg and players Walt Bellamy, Jerry Lucas, Oscar Robertson and Jerry West.

"We are very proud to introduce the historic Class of 2010, a diverse and distinguished group that includes six players, a coach, a contributor and two elite teams," John Doleva, president and CEO of the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame, said in a statement. "We look forward to honoring them in Springfield this summer with a week-long celebration of basketball, highlighted by the Enshrinement Ceremony on Aug. 13." (Information for activities and tickets is here.)

The 1992 U.S. Men's Olympic Basketball Team: Charles Barkley, Larry Bird, Clyde Drexler, Patrick Ewing, Magic Johnson, Michael Jordan, Christian Laettner, Karl Malone, Chris Mullin, Scottie Pippen, David Robinson, John Stockton, head coach Chuck Daly and assistant coaches P.J. Carlesimo, Mike Krzyzewski and Lenny Wilkens.

The 1960 U.S. Men's Olympic Basketball Team: Walt Bellamy, Jerry Lucas, Oscar Robertson, Jerry West, Jay Amette, Robert Booser, Terry Dischinger, Burdette Haldorson, Darrall Imoff, Allen Kelley, Lester Lane, Adrian Smith, head coach Pete Newell and assistant coaches Warren Womble and Dutch Lonborg.

Hoops Hall of Fame Seeks To Expand Marketing Potential With Class of 2010

Marketers Make The Most Of Michael Jordan Hall Of Fame Honor

Back to Home Page