Suspended Ramirez Fourth Among NL Outfielders In Early ASG Voting

May 26, 2009: Manny Ramirez may be proof that fans of MLB care less about the issue of performance-enhancing drugs than the watchdogs in the media and Congress. According to the first weekly update from MLB of voting for the 2009 All-Star Game (May 26), Ramirez is not only fourth among all National League outfielders, but his 442,763 votes is in the top ten among all NL players. This despite the fact that the Los Angeles Dodgers' left fielder is in the midst of a 50-game suspension and has played only 27 games to date, albeit with all-star level stats (.348, 6 homers, 20 RBIs) in his time on the field.  Ramirez has been doing conditioning workouts at Dodgers Stadium, which is allowed under MLB rules as long as they are not on the field when the stadium itself opens for fans.

Ryan Braun, outfielder with the Milwaukee Brewers, leads all NL outfielders with 663,164 votes, followed by Chicago Cubs outfield Alfonso Soriano (545,354 votes) and New York Mets outfielder Carlos Beltran (1476,843 votes). At other positions, Albert Pujois, first baseman of the St. Louis Cardinals leads all NL players (842.058 votes), second baseman Chase Utley of the 2008 World Series champion Philadelphia Phillies leads at his position (675,596 votes), Mets third baseman David Wright leads at his position (454,449 votes), the Brewers J.J. Hardy tops NL shortstops (403,269 votes), and the Cardinals' Yadler Molina tops NL catchers (451,368 votes). The closest races are between Braun and Soriano and at shortstop, where Hardy leads the Florida Marlins' Hanley Ramirez by less than 40,000 votes; the biggest margin is at first, where Puljois leads Brewers first baseman Prince Fielder by more than 400,000 votes.

Fans can cast their votes for starters up to 25 times with the 2009 All-Star Game Sprint Online Ballot at MLB.com and all 30 club sites until July 2 at 11:59 p.m. ET. Starting rosters for the July 14 game in St. Louis will be announced during the 2009 All-Star Game Selection Show presented by Chevrolet on TBS on July 5. Fans will then be able to select the final player on each team via the "2009 All-Star Game Sprint Final Vote" at MLB.com. Back to Home Page