NFL 100 Honoring Original Towns With Celebrations, Draft Plans, New Field
Tuesday, March 26, 2019 at 11:42PM in NFL, NFL, NFL 100, sports marketing

NYSJ Sports-Entertainment Business News Service

March 26, 2019:
As part of its 100th anniversary season-long celebration, the NFL said it plans to honor the 13 communities that were home to the 14 teams of its inaugural season.

Chicago was home to both the Racine Cardinals and Chicago Tigers.

Hometown celebrations in these markets will showcase the town's history alongside fans, NFL legends, celebrities and elected officials.

"There's no better way to bring the league's hundred years of history full circle than to partner with these communities and recognize their important place in history as part of the NFL's centennial celebration," NFL commissioner Roger Goodell said via the league.

Eight “original towns" outside of the 32 current NFL markets will host live telecasts in their hometowns to announce picks on Day 3 of the NFL Draft in April.

In addition, “to honor the lasting legacy of football and pave the way for future generations of football players,” the NFL Foundation will fund the installment of a new artificial turf field in the city of Dayton, Ohio, in partnership with FieldTurf & Vasco.

The field will commemorate the first NFL (then known as the American Professional Football Association) game, played in Triangle Park on Oct. 3, 1920, between the Dayton Triangles and the Columbus Panhandles.

The NFL was formed in 1920 as the APFA during a meeting held in Canton, Ohio, and consisted of 14 teams. Jim Thorpe was elected its first president

The league was renamed the National Football League for the 1922 season.

The NFL also premiered “A Lifetime of Sundays," a documentary that looks at the league’s history through the eyes of four women team owners: Virginia McCaskey (Chicago Bears), Martha Firestone Ford (Detroit Lions), Norma Hunt (Kansas City Chiefs) and Patricia Rooney (Pittsburgh Steelers).

According to Regina King, “I have loved this sport since I was a little girl and I hope this inspires women to seek out leadership positions in the NFL, in sports and in life."

In celebration of NFL 100, the league is honoring the following 13 "Original Towns":

• Akron, OH: Akron Pros
• Buffalo, NY: Buffalo All-Americans
• Canton, OH: Canton Bulldogs
• Chicago, IL: Racine Cardinals, Chicago Tigers
• Cleveland, OH: Cleveland Tiger
• Columbus, OH: Columbus Panhandles
• Dayton, OH: Dayton Triangles
• Decatur, IL: Decatur Staleys
• Detroit, MI:  Detroit Heralds
• Hammond, IN: Hammond Pros
• Muncie, IN: Muncie Flyers
• Rochester, NY: Rochester Jeffersons
• Rock Island, IL: Rock Island Independents

NFL 100 Tickets: Greatest Prize In NFL History?

Back to Home Page

Article originally appeared on (
See website for complete article licensing information.