Jordan, Bird, Magic, Sir Charles Earn Olympic Hall Of Fame Status

July 1, 2009: Michael Jordan, Larry Bird, Earvin "Magic" Johnson, Charles Barkley and other members of the 1992 U.S. men's Olympic basketball "Dream Team" are among a select group of athletes who have been inducted into the U.S. Olympic Hall of Fame presented by Allstate. The Class of 2009 will be formally introduced and honored Aug. 12 at a banquet-style induction ceremony at McCormick Place in Chicago. Through a partnership with Chicago 2016, the ceremony will also serve as a final fundraiser for the organizing committee's bid to bring the 2016 Olympic and Paralympic Games to the city. The induction ceremony will air on NBC on Sept. 5.

"The U.S. Olympic Committee is very excited to honor this year's U.S. Olympic Hall of Fame legends who have inspired many generations in this country with their courage and thrilling Olympic performances," Stephanie Streeter, USOC acting CEO, said in a statement. "Each of these Olympians is a worthy addition to the Hall of Fame and an overall symbol of the U.S. Olympic Movement. We're also pleased to continue to partner with Allstate, a company that shares our commitment to America's Olympians."

The Class of 2009, which as a group participated in 21 Olympic and Paralympic Games and won 46 medals, were determined by more than 112,000 ballots cast by fans for players and coaches and a seven-person nominating committee consisting of Olympians, members of the U.S. Olympic Hall of Fame, a National Governing Body executive director and a USOC representative.

1992 U.S. men's basketball Olympic team.The Class of 2009 inductee list: Michael Johnson (athletics), Picabo Street (alpine skiing), Teresa Edwards (basketball), Willye White (athletics), Mary T. Meagher (swimming), Sarah Will (Paralympic alpine skiing), longtime men's gymnastics coach Abie Grossfeld, skiing veteran Andrea Mead-Lawrence, special contributor Peter Ueberroth; and the 1992 U.S. Men's Olympic Basketball team: Charles Barkley, Larry Bird, Clyde Drexler, Patrick Ewing, Magic Johnson, Michael Jordan, Christian Laettner, Karl Malone, Chris Mullin, Scottie Pippen, David Robinson, John Stockton, head coach Chuck Daly and assistant coaches P.J. Carlesimo, Mike Krzyzewski and Lenny Wilkens. Tables and tickets for the induction ceremony may be purchased online at

Will Michael, Magic, Larry And Sir Charles Make It Into The Hall?

1992 Olympic Dream Team Heads List Of Hall Of Fame Nominees

Back to Home Page