New Orleans Seen As Front Runner For Super Bowl XLVII

May 20, 2009: NFL owners meeting in Ft. Lauderdale on Tuesday selected New Orleans to be the host city for Super Bowl XLVII, which will be played in 2013. The feam and the state of Louisiana recently completed an extension to remain in the city through 2025, a key selling point for the NFL, that included an $85 million renovation of the Superdome, where the game will be played. The game is expected to have the greatest impact on the area in terms of financial expectations among all single sports events that have been held in the city since it was nearly wiped out my Hurricane Katrina, with an estimated $300 million coming into cities that have hosted recent Super Bowls. The  2008 NBA All-Star Game was held in New Orleans and the NCAA Division I men's basketball Final Four will be played there in 2012, among other major events. Also putting in bids for the game were Arizona, which hosted Super Bowl XLII, and Miami, which is hosting the upcoming Super Bowl XLIV in February 2010. Representatives from each of the bid committees presented their cases on Tuesday. Tampa had been considering putting in a bid but is now said to be waiting for the next bidding process,  along with Miami and Arizona, which would be Super Bowl XLVIII in 2014. The NFL in the near future also will start to reveal plans for the milestone Super Bowl L, which will be held in 2016. New Orleans has hosted nine Super Bowls but none since XXXVI in 2002. "I tried to get them to bid on 2012 but they wouldn't do it. We've got to work out with the state to get an extension to our lease, a long-term lease is what we prefer," Saints owner Tom Benson said following the NFL owners meeting last May when Indianapolis was selected to host Super Bowl XLVI in 2012. "But I think we're working on it. I feel good about it. I think we can get that together and we'll get the Super Bowl in 2013."

Sites of Upcoming Super Bowls

Super Bowl XLIV: Miami, Feb. 7, 2010
Super Bowl XLV: Dallas, Feb. 6, 2011
Super Bowl XLVI: Indianapolis, Feb. 5, 2012
Super Bowl XLVII: New Orleans, Feb. 2013
Super Bowl XLVIII: Feb. 2014 (TBD at NFL owners meeting in May 2010)

Back to Home Page